starting strength gym
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Burnsie's Log

Default Burnsie's Log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi everyone, I’ve been reading this forum since mid 2010 and thought it was time to start a log. I’m 38, 5’10”, 216lbs and about 25% BF (which has been a problem for me since I was a kid).

I’ve been doing the SS program since September 2010 (so about 6 months). In my 20’s I did a bodybuilding type of program going to the gym 6 days a week, sometimes even twice a day. I know, I know. I was a competitive mountain biker a few years ago, and also study a full-contact karate style (currently on a break from it). I took a break from regular lifting for about 6 years or so, so my strength plummeted. I came across SS through my CrossFit days (which I really liked, by the way, but just can’t afford it right now). I have to say though that the lifting days were my absolute favorite workouts. My conditioning has always been shit, and I’ve had to work my fucking ass of to even be remotely competitive in anything that involved cardio (i.e. the mountain bike racing).

Starting out on the program with such light weight was difficult, wanted to lift more weight right away but I kept my impatience in check as started off at the following:

Squat: 105 lbs
    Bench: 115
    Deadlift: 115
    Press: 65
    Powercleans: 95

Lifts this week:
    Squat: 260lbs
    Bench: 215
    Deadlift: 315 (pretty proud of this even if this is your warmup weight)
    Press: 160 (failed to get all reps twice now)
    Powercleans: 180 (failed to get all reps twice now)