starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Complete newb with a starting weight question

Default Complete newb with a starting weight question

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Disclaimer: Chances are very good that this sort of question has been asked before, and that my Google-Fu is as weak as my deadlift. If this is the case, please feel free to mock and belittle me as appropriate.

I'm just beginning Starting Strength, as I am tired of being a scrawny little half-man who can't even squat 3 plates for reps. In the past, I've screwed around with completely ineffective bodybuilding exercises, and had a brief fling with a local CrossFit gym that lasted long enough to get me strict pullups and dips, but not much longer, since the strength gains stopped. In my misguided wanderings through the field of training, I even stumbled upon the Wendler 5/3/1 and tried it for a bit before realizing it's really for intermediate/advanced folks, not for pathetic weaklings. It's been a couple months since I've done much of anything.

My current stats are: Male, age 34, 6'0" / 182 - 183 cm, approximately 200 lbs. / 90.7 kg., history of severe undereating since I used to drop $20 per meal at Taco Bell and never gain an ounce, bodyfat percentage somewhere between "sedentary narcoleptic narwhal" and "hyperactive vole on meth".

Current diet plan is utter fanatical devotion to the paleo diet, to the point that the only slight, tiny, completely insignificant deviation from it I will consider is a gallon of milk a day. Preferably slathered in my homemade bacon-sausage gravy, like just about everything else I eat.

When I did the two initial sessions to figure out what my weights are for Starting Strength, I hit the following weights for one set each unless otherwise noted...

Squat - 155 lbs / 70 kg x 5 with a slight wobble of my left knee inwards on the very last rep.