starting strength gym

Thread: First squat form check

Default First squat form check

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi, I've been doing SS for about 5 months now. My progression has been a bit slower as I have been training and competing in MMA and Submission Grappling at the same time. However, I've managed to work up to a 310lbs squat. I've read SS and watched the DVD but I have never actually had someone critique my Squat form. I appriciate any and all help.

The first video is my first work set and the second video is my last work set. Sorry about the dark color shorts, I tried to get as much light on me as possible.

Thanks for your time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e1XFM...eature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5FRCM...eature=related

These are high

Your feet look like they are on a wider angle than your knees. Don't try to go lower until they are lined up. Big ouchies. But go lower with segment alignment.

Do you feel zapped by the time you start your reps? You pause under the bar while it is racked. I've found it best to duck under, check your centering, get hands placed, and go. Get it over with. Then you pause for a long time once you walk out. That's manly stuff but it might kill your reps.

Do you mean my feet are too wide? or my toes are pointed too far out thus causing my knees not to track properly? Any cues I can use to fix this?

Ok I'll drop the weight a bit and focus on proper depth.

No, I'm not zapped before I start my reps. I think its more of a mental prep and making sure my feet are under the weight properly. I do try to step out, let the bar settle, take my breath and go.

Thanks.