starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: SS questions

Default SS questions

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello,

Just learned about this forum recently. I'd been doing isolated exercises during my workouts in the past. Just last year I started learning about compound lifts and Starting Strength on an unrelated forum.

I started doing Starting Strength a short time ago. I have two questions. One, I saw Mark mentioning somewhere (not sure if it was on a forum or in the book) that we should be increasing our weights 10 pounds every workout. Thats definitely not happening with me. I must also say that for some reason I'm much weaker than pretty much anyone on this forum. Last I squatted I did 85 pounds, and that was after a good month or two of working out. Last bench was 105, DL was 95 I believe. But I digress. So we're supposed to be increasing 10 pounds per workout but that's definitely not happening with me. Something wrong there or is it just because I'm so much weaker that I won't progress as fast?

Also, I got a fitness evaluation recently and it turns out I'm 26% body fat! Wow that's pretty high. I don't actually look that fat but when I'm home and chilling out I can definitely see a belly. So with this level of fat is SS still the right program for me or should I be going w/ something more oriented towards fat loss? My goals in working out were originally to get bigger / stronger, but losing fat should obviously become a priority now.

Best,
    Dan

Welcome to the forum!

The squat increases 10lbs ONLY for 1-3 weeks. After that you have no choice but to switch to 5lbs increases.

The deadlift increase by 10lbs every time for months. The movement allows you to add more weight because the muscle responsible for the deadlift (mainly back, legs and forearms) are getting stronger faster.