starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: TM to Dan John and back: will Mass Made Simple work?

Default TM to Dan John and back: will Mass Made Simple work?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    5/26: Major Change of Plans: Sorry, I've decided NOT to do Dan John MMS Program which has rendered this thread's title is a complete misnomer, my apologies. I'll be sticking with the TM and will start another thread. I'll explain in the other thread and let this one die it's slow, quiet, death.

I decided to do the Dan John's Mass made Simple 6 week program.

As per his suggestion, I am leaning out (for 3 weeks) while doing a modified Texas Method. I have been doing an intermediate program for 4 months. I did 1RM bench marks at the end of April... Here is where I am starting:

Height: 5'8"
    Weight" 176

1 Rep maxes as of April 27th and 29th:
    Squat: 340
    Dead: 365
    Bench: 210
    Press: 152.5
    Clean: 170

I figure if I'm going to get that 400# squat I need to add mass. However, I'm 44 and there's no way I'm going to GOMAD. I put on belly fat like an old man, and I want to be healthy and look decent. Even during the last 3 months when I lifted and just ate like a beast I put on 10 pounds and 1/2 of that was useless fat.

I hope Dan's program will help me add more muscle and less fat than GOMAD.

Diet. I'm pretty strict paleo: no grains, beans and just heavy cream in the coffee: ver little dairy, just some cheese. I eat a lot of grass fed beef, pork, sweet potatoes and veggies.

I'll be posting 3 weeks of my modified TM: it is modified in that I am restarting a linear press and dead lift progression while doing a Volume-Recovery-Intensity schedule for the Squat. I'll then begin Dan's program.
    Last edited by Rob Israel; 05-26-2011 at 09:19 PM. Reason: Program plan ditched. Thread title no longer accurate.

Catching up on last week's workouts: