starting strength gym

Thread: Help me get ready to restart please...

Default Help me get ready to restart please...

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    So I'm a barbell noob who started SS back in January and DTP for a while. Then one day I was rushed, shortened my warmup before squatting, my hamstrings tightened up at the bottom, my lower back rounded and some pain developed right at my sacrum. It didn't go away despite rest and nursing it so I was out for two months and started picking up weights again a few weeks back.

So here's where I need help:
    Between the kids and work I won't have enough time on weekdays during the summer for full SS sessions until school starts up in August. And there's other life stuff happening between now and then that would interfere with programming. In the fall however I'll have lots of time.

So my thinking was to take a few months of doing the lifts and try for a decent re-start point for doing the program and LP. I think I'll have enough time in the day to do two lifts, and time permitting, a bodyweight exercise that doesn't require setup/teardown or warmups.

Something like:
    Tue: Squat, Press, (Pullups)
    Thu: Squat, Bench, (Dips)
    Sat: Squat, Deadlift, Powerclean

Any thoughts or suggestions? Thanks

How much time are you thinking it should take to DTP? It doesn't seem like that much of a time savings to do pullups vs deads or PC. Particularly if you do 3 sets of pullups or dips? For instance on deadlift day, I do 3-4 warm up sets of 1-5 reps with very little rest. Then I rest a bit and do the one set of 5 and thats it. Maybe you're taking too long on your warm up sets?

Possibly, but I want to lift when my body says "OK, lets go", not when the big hand has moved a certain distance. Rushing through because I had to be somewhere is how I ended up losing several months.