starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: TM ideas

Question TM ideas

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey guys, I have been on the Texas Method for 3 1/2 weeks now. I want to add the power snatch into my routine and I also wanted to build up more explosive strength. I am beginning to do some throwing in hopes of joining the college track team (I haave only learned the javelin thus far), and I want to join the school's weightlifting team; I am a rising freshman, by the way.
    Here are my 5RMs (lbs):
    Squat: 270
    Deadlift: 315
    Bench: 205
    Press: 135
    Power Clean: 135 (I just solidified my form)

Pull-ups: BWx9,8,7

Weight: 215 lbs
    Height: 6' 5.5"

My current routine is:
    Week 1: Day 1- Squat 5x5
    Bench 5x5
    Rows 3x8

Day2- Squat 2x5 (light)
    Press 3x5 (light)
    Power Clean 5x3
    Pull-ups BWxmax

Day 3- Squat 5RM
    Bench 5RM
    Deadlift 5RM

Press 5x5
    Rows 3x8

Day2- Squat 2x5 (light)
    Bench 3x5 (light)
    Power Clean 5x3
    Pull-ups BWxMax

Day 3- Squat 5RM
    Press 5RM
    Deadlift 5RM

The rows were there to serve as light back work.

Here is a routine I am considering:
    Bench 5x5
    Power Clean 5x3

Day2- Front Squat 2x5 or 3x5
    Press 3x5 (light)
    Power Snatch 2x6
    Pull-ups BWxMax

Day 3- Squat 5RM
    Bench 5RM
    Shrugs 5RM (maybe alternate with C&J 1RM)

Press (olympic) 5x5
    Power Clean 5x3

Day2- Front Squat 2x5 or 3x5
    Bench 3x5 (light)
    Power Snatch 6x2
    Pull-ups BWxMax

Day 3- Squat 5RM
    (Push) Press 5RM
    Deadlift 5RtM

I want to eventually do some DE work with the Bench and Squat, once I exhaust current progress. I am not doing the double hip hyperextension, but rather one hyperextension at the beginning of the lift; I still get underneath the bar at the top of the lift.
    Here are my concerns:
    1) Will 100% front squats be a good idea for those light days?