starting strength gym

Thread: Bench press grip problem

Default Bench press grip problem

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey Rip,

Forgive me, but I'm about to waste your time with another question that seems very silly, and yet I can't figure it out.

The issue is this: something is fucked up with my grip on the bench press. The bar seems to be shifting slightly in my hands after I unrack it, and the result is that my fingernails dig into my palms and the bar feels slightly unstable and uncomfortable during the set. At the end of every set I have marks on the base of my palms from where my fingernails were pressing.

I've been training consistently for the past three years and this only started happening recently. I made no conscious effort to alter anything about my bench setup, which I attempt to perform as laid out in SS, just as I always have. I try to keep the bar near the base of my palm, I set up so that my eyes are just on the foot-side of the bar, and I get a handoff from a spotter. My hands are not particularly sweaty when this happens, but I have tried chalking up before benching recently and this has not alleviated the problem. I don't have long fingernails or anything unusual about my hands. I am 6' 175 and my most recent bench PR was 220x6. Any ideas? This is pissing me off.