I am a totally untrained novice and have not yet even had my first workout on this program. After some study and planning, I am going to have my first workout in the next day or so. I have never done any real strength training, but did have a gym membership about nine years ago. I "lifted weights" on the Nautilus machines and also ran on the treadmills probably two or three times a week. I realize this is NOT strength training. My previous experience was supposedly about losing a little weight, general fitness, I guess.

My wife has been doing cardio (treadmill) and what she says is "weights" two to three times a week for the past several months. She did aerobics for a while before that. She has lost a few pounds, but I really don't see much progress. We have a family membership, so I have good access to a fully outfitted weight room.

I am not in terrible shape, nor especially weak, but I get very little exercise. Most exercise I get is just mowing the grass, general home repair, moving furniture, you know the routine. I do not exercise aerobically at all. I am 43 years old, 6'0", not obese, about 195 lbs. At my heaviest, I weighed almost 230 lbs. That weight was lost mostly by fasting, which I can explain about later. In my youth I played baseball and basketball, but my school was so small, and it was so long ago, strength training was not really being done to any degree where I grew up. I did a lot of road biking, with interval training as well, and even thought I could be competitive. But, my financial situation (and that of my parents) as a teen was not conducive to that sort of thing (high end equipment, travel to races, etc.)