starting strength gym

Thread: Oran's Training Log

Default Oran's Training Log

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    A little background on me: I started lifting in January of 2010 and started with (gasp!) StrongLifts. I was ignorant. I ran 5x5 up to 225, then read about Starting Strength and ran it up to 270. At that point I discovered a powerlifting gym in my town and started training there running their system, a kind-of Westside program. I did a bunch of meets last year and really enjoy competing (I compete in a geared federation - WABDL) I'm about to have my second kid and I just hate being away from my family for their 2.5 hour workouts, so I bought some equipment and I'm in my garage.

After training for singles for so long, I have no conditioning and have no idea what my 5 rep maxes are. So I'm running GSLP up to a stall, then I'm going to run Texas Method. The first couple of workouts, I was out of breath at 7 reps of really easy weight, but I'm getting much better.

Some stats:
    BW:180 (competed at 165, but I put on some weight recently so I'm going to compete at 181 from now on - or maybe even 198)
    Height: 5'8"

Best lifts:
    Squat: 345x1 (425 single-ply)
    DL: 405x1 (446 single-ply)
    Bench: 225x1 (303 single-ply)
    OHP: 145x2x2

These were all at 165 and I haven't tested my raw maxes in a long time.

Goals:

200/300/400/500 raw
    400/500/550 geared
    Be reasonably fit and healthy

Process:
    Run Texas Method once I have an idea of where my 5rms are and do short conditioning sessions 2-3x's a week. Work out in gear twice a month.

I always write sets x reps (i.e. 3x5). Yes, I am a technically a competitive lifter, but I think my numbers determine my training to be intermediate.

Last night's workout:

Press: 2x5x130, 7x130
    DL: 7x290 (Could have done a lot more, but I don't like high-repping deads so I'm cutting them at 7)