starting strength gym
Page 1 of 18 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: JKW's training log. I'm tired of being weak.

Default JKW's training log. I'm tired of being weak.

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Intro:
    Until a month or two ago, I had never set foot in a weight room though I was moderately athletic earlier in life, but always weak as hell. I was getting a little fat and lazy (I'm a software developer by trade so I ride a desk all day). I got the urge to get healthy and become a runner in the fall of last year, and set about training for a 5k. I achieved that a couple months later but in the process my knee started hurting. I ended up diagnosed with runner's knee, and had to stop running to try to rehab. My PT was expensive and did not improve my condition, so I decided to work on it myself at my local gym ($20/mo vs. $50/wk for PT). Aside from my specific knee rehab, I tooled around with some random machines for a while, but realized that I was totally clueless, and that I would get nowhere without some learning first. Somehow I ended up discovering starting strength and bought the book, and started the program on Jan 23, 2012. I got lucky that my gym (retro fitness) has a squat rack (though no power racks). I've given up the prospect of running for now, and just want to get strong. Knee still has issues.

Starting metrics
    Height: 6'1"
    Weight: 173

Starting lifts (01/23/12)
    Squat: 85
    Deadlift: 115
    Bench: 60
    Press: 50
    PC: Haven't tried yet
    Chin: 0

PR lifts (as of 6/27/13) all 5RM except chins
    Squat: 245
    Deadlift: 270
    Bench: 187.5 (210 1RM as well)
    Press: 115
    PC: 130
    Chin: 7 6 6 BW 210
    Pull ups: 4

1RM Goals
    Squat: 300
    Deadlift: 400
    Bench: 200 (Achieved!)
    Press: 135
    PC: 150
    Chin: 1x5 +45
    Last edited by jkw; 06-28-2013 at 08:30 AM.