starting strength gym

Thread: SS third attempt. Targeting B/W press and 200kg squat

Default SS third attempt. Targeting B/W press and 200kg squat

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi all, work, location, and a new gym have conspired to allow me another bash at SS. This will be the third time I've done the program, after circumstances have halted me on my previous attempts. However, being a resilient character, I'm back again.

On my first attempt I went from complete beginner to squatting 1x bodyweight (100kgs), and beyond, and changed my body composition spectacularly.

On my second attempt, I reached 185kg squats with no signs of progress slowing, however my press got stuck at about 70kg, which led me to hook up with the local weightlifting club, who slated my lifting, and disagreed with mine (Rip's) fine logic which discouraged me to the point of giving up. Going back to half squats with the bar on my neck, thumbs around the bar, and looking up is counter productive, and interferes with my becoming a superstrong sexual tyrannosaurus.

On my third attempt I will be trusting the word of Rip, advice from the forum, and generally doing what I think is right, and will achieve 200kg squats, and body weight presses. Signed up at the gym near my new office yesterday, and had a quick session to see where I'm at. My weights are all down considerably, but my form seems well enough. I can still remember the various cues I'd learnt, and it feels great to be back.
    Pretty sore today, but if I remember correctly it goes after a week or so....

Height is still 5'9, weight as of yesterday was 97kgs (body fat is, well, plentyful - so it'll be interesting to see if my weight goes down then back up...)