starting strength gym

Thread: Ian Driscoll's Training Log

Thumbs up Ian Driscoll's Training Log

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi everyone,

I'll do a little introduction, my name is Ian Driscoll, I'm 20 years old and am studying exercise science at Wayne State College. I'm an amateur powerlifter/strongman. I'm going to start using the starting strength forums because 1) I want to get "back to my roots" (I used to blog for a supplement company, which I will never do again, let's leave it at that) and get feedback from people who aren't ignorant and understand the value/importance of barbell exercises and lifestyle 2) I know I won't get questioned about the latest supplement, how great it is or what supplements I'm taking (I'm not taking any, actually) 3) I owe a lot to starting strength for putting me on the right track for strength many years ago. My best lifts in a powerlifting competition to date are a 512 squat, 303 bench, and a 556 deadlift. I'm also drug free, I don't believe in AAS and I compete raw (like it matters).

4-23-12
    warm up
    RDL - worked up to 365x2 and 315x10 (Disappointed in my 365 effort)
    -previous best was 335 for 5

DB rows - 110# 27 each arm then 17 each arm

Incline curls - #20 3x12

Face pulls - 4x20

Superset: Abs on roman chair & DB side bends #85 3x10

walk - 25 minutes

4-25-12
    Warm up

Incline bench - worked up to 235# did 3 and then the weight damn near fell off the ends, took the five's off and did two more reps with 225. I really need to make bench workouts my priority for the meet in July. I suck at bench.

DB military press - 45# - 23, 21

Rolling DB tricep ext. - 40# 4x12

Lat pulls - 120# 4x12

planks - did these on a HIIT interval of 20 seconds on, 10 seconds off, managed 5 rounds with good form (squeezing abs and butt cheeks)

walk - 60 minutes