starting strength gym
Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Rural Starting Strength - Lee's Log

Default Rural Starting Strength - Lee's Log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi Everyone,

I am a 42 year old woman with a hubby and three young boys that lives in the middle of nowhere and make do with the equipment I have... but I've decided to work on following Starting Strength. I have been doing a lot of kettlebell work for the past 9 months or so and I do lots of other activities as well (hiking, trail running, sprinting, etc). I am dropping ALL of that (except maybe some casual hiking when possible) so I can try to stick with the program!

I have a Powertec Multigym (I know - SACRILEGE - I've had it for years and didn't know better) but I have no spotters available when I lift 99% of the time (my husband and I take turns watching the boys while the other is working out). I have an Olympic Bar and just ordered another (so I don't have to unload just to play with the upcoming power cleans). The Powertec allows me to work my squat and bench without risk of significant injury, but I know I have to throw in some bar work for that as well when I have a spotter available.

I lifted last week (pre-SS) to a comfortable DL 3x5 165 (was planning on going up to 175 this week) and a bench of 3 x 5 105... But I was doing NO warmup sets (just general warmups) so my weights were significantly lower following the first day SS protocol:

Squats: 45 1x5; 55 1x5; 65 1x5; 75 1x5; 85 1x5; 95 3x5. My last squats were 100 3x15, so this seemed pretty lame, but the book says 'average start is 85', and being female and just returning to lifting from kettlebell work I figured I'd be conservative, especially since they say people typically start too heavy anyway.

Bench: 45 1x5; 55 1x5; 65 1x5; 75 3x5