starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Baldander's log

Default Baldander's log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I'm 40 (almost 41,) 6', and around 200 lbs. I started lifting around the middle of June, but I was pretty inconsistent about it for the first few weeks. I pulled an adductor the second time I went to the gym (and tweaked my lower back a bit at the same time.) I skipped the next session, and then backed off on the squats until it felt better. Some things came up that I had to deal with that made me miss all of the first week of July, and the second two session of the third week.

I started at 145 for the squat, and around the same for the deadlift. I failed to finish 3x5 at 95 lbs for bench the first time, and started over from 85 the next time I benched. Press started at 65 lbs. I've been doing bent rows rather than power cleans, though I think I should learn to do the cleans, as the rows seem less useful than everything else- I started them at 85 lbs, which was too low. I've broken both my wrists, the right one less than a year ago, and I am not flexible enough to get into a rack position, so I've been leery of the power clean. But the row seems to do less for me than the other movements, so I'd like to add the power clean in its place.

On Friday the 26th of July I did the following work sets:
    Squat: 195 3x5
    Bench Press: 115 3x5
    Deadlift: 195 3x5

On Monday the 29th of July I did the following work sets:

Squat: 200 3x5
    Press: 90 1x5, 1x4, 1x3, 1x1 (I accidentally went up to 85 instead of 80 last time I pressed, and did 3x5 OK, so I tried 90, but failed. I will do 90 again on Friday, and hopefully do 3x5.)
    Row: 125 3x5
    Last edited by Baldanders; 07-31-2012 at 07:33 PM.

Wednesday, August 1 2012

Squat: 205 3x5