Page 1 of 31 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: JWells' Training Log

Josh Wells is offline Starting Strength Coach
    big-O

Default JWells' Training Log

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    So I have been asked to post my training on here for a few years now but just have not done it. I was asked again yesterday to do it again and said I would do it today.

I am 28 yrs old; 5' 9"; 230lbs.

Best Lifts:
    Snatch: 135kg
    C&J: 165kg
    Front Sq: 205kg
    Squat: 525lbs
    Press: 265lbs
    Bench:325lbs
    Deadlift:575lbs

Background:
    I have been training since I was 15 at Rip's gym. I am a Competitive Olympic Weightlifter. I competed in Jr. Pan Am's in 2003, Jr. Worlds in 2004. I dislocated my Left Elbow in 2005. Since then have struggled to beat my best lifts but have decided that things need to change.

I have been a SS Coach for atleast 4 years (not sure when I started coaching at the seminars). I moved to NYC over a year ago and have been doing SS Training Camps in Manhattan the Last 6 months.

My Goal is to get back into competitions and have fun.

Josh,

Pumped that you have finally done this. Thanks...I will continue to find motivation from you through your log.

big-O

Mac,

I appreciate the push to do this. I am going to try to keep pushing the weights and hope I dont break.

So here is what was on the menu today:

Snatches
    135x1
    185x1x10
    205x1
    235x1x3 missed the first two.
    Still trying to get my tech. back. Very easy to pull just a little off on the catch.

Press
    185 x5x3
    195 x5x3

Floor Press
    235 x5x2

Pull-ups

Thats all for today. Everything feels good. Still going up on the lifts slow and steady.
    This is the start of week 10 back into a real program.

Hi there, stranger! It will be great to follow along here online, as well as at work ;-)