starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Pissed Off For Greatness: John's Log

Default Pissed Off For Greatness: John's Log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Intro:
    I am 17 year old male/junior in high-school who is training under the Starting Strength novice program. I have attended both the Starting Strength squat camp in Atlanta and the Starting Strength Seminar in Brooklyn(1 month ago). I have been barbell training for 2 months and have been doing (yes actually doing) the SS program since 10/12/2012. I have been playing varsity basketball for the past three years and I will run the 100m dash for the track team. I am currently in-season for basketball and will be barbell training on Sunday and Wednesday of each week using the basic A--B--A template. I am 6 feet tall.

Reasons for log:
    I have started this log to ensure that I do not give into the allures of mediocrity. There has been an epidemic of laziness, along with a general acceptance of going through the motions in life, that I refuse to be a part of. Being strong, both mentally and physically, is something I value and am working toward.

What to expect/Goals:
    I will be logging my training sessions(no shit!) and will mention how barbell training has impacted me on the basketball court and track. I will end each post with a motivational video because I think inspiration and motivation are often overlooked in one's journey. My training goals are to get to a 200lb body-weight and 405 squat as soon as possible. I will re-assess after I get there.

Where I was on October 12th, 2012 (First day of SS post-mono)
    Bodyweight: 173.8
    Squat 5x 3 225lbs
    Press 5x3 90lbs
    Deadlift 5x1 280

Today's Training Session--November 4th, 2012:
    Bodyweight: 187.3
    Squat 280x5x3--Good bar speed, need to stay tight in hole.