starting strength gym
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: No Ugly Reps - My SS training log

Default No Ugly Reps - My SS training log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I finally started the program today. I'm using the Practical Programing Novice Program, even though I'm not a total novice. I could provide some background and training history but I don't think anyone will pay attention to that so I'll spare ya'll the details. I'll be following this format:

Workout A
    3x5 Squat
    3x5 Press
    1x5 Deadlift/5x3 Power Clean (alternating)

Workout B
    3x5 Squat
    3x5 Bench Press
    3x10 Back Extension
    3xFailure(15 max)* Chin-ups/Pull-ups (alternating)

I guess I should at least record that I'm a 32 year old female; 5'8, 130lbs. My 1RMs up until now are (approx): press: 65lb, bench: 115lb, squat: 135lb, deadlift: 195lb, PC: no idea. I've had three coaching sessions with a SS coach.
    __________________________________________________ ________________

This isn't the first program that I've followed and this isn't the first time that I've used the lifts in the program. So I had a good idea where to start, weight-wise. Though I did start low and work my way up until the bar slowed.

Today's workout:

Squat:
    45-5 reps
    65- 5 reps
    85-5 reps
    95- 5 reps...bar started to slow a bit so I used this as my first work set
    95-5,5

Press:
    45-5 reps (I couldn't start lower since we don't have a bar lighter than 45lbs)
    47.5- 5 reps
    50 - 5 reps...lost some speed so called this the first work set
    50- 5,5

DL:
    135- 5 reps (because we don't have bumper plates and I'm too lazy to set up props for smaller plates so I just did the one set)