• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Height: 5'9"
    Weight: 224

Week 18: Day 1 Volume Day

Squats 245 5x5
    Press 87.5 5x5
    Deadlift 285 1x5

Wow, long workout. Almost 2 hours. I don't feel too bad. I am using 80% of my 5RM for Squats, Bench and Press. I am using 90% for Deadlifts. Everything felt good while lifting. I still have to figure out what to do on light day. Overall, a great evening at the gym.

Hey, Neil--Nice first TM workout. I'm not that experienced but have been doing TM for some time. I would follow up with 2x5 back squats at 80% of your volume squats above; 3x5 light bench, at 80% of what you plan to do next week on your volume bench; and then something like power cleans or whatever you like to do for a third lift. The light day for me always felt ridiculously light, but it's supposed to be about recovery, exercising the neural pathways, and just keeping the blood flowing through the muscles, I think. I look forward to following your progress.

Thanks! Light day is pretty easy. I went with glute/ham raises this go around as I am going to see how power cleans go on Friday. The G/H raises hurt like all get out, they are not as easy as I thought they would be. Thanks for checking up on me! I hope Squat Queen is doing better with her back.

Week 18: Day 2 Light Day

Squats: 195 3x5
    Bench: 135 3x5
    Chins (Negative): 3 Sets to failure
    Glute/Ham Raises: 3x10

Not a bad night. Light Day is pretty good. Everything was very easy. However, the Glute/Ham Raises really hurt my lower back so I was only able to do 3 sets. Maybe they take so getting used to. Looking forward to Saturday!

Week 18: Day 3 Intensity Day

Squats: 295 1x2 PR
    Press: 112.5 1x2 PR
    Power Snatch (Practice) 45: 1x5