starting strength gym

Thread: Novice/Intermediate introducing Martial Arts

Default Novice/Intermediate introducing Martial Arts

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi

I have been training for about 22 months and have made some progress, although I never did the program as prescribed... At the moment I am training three days a week, mucking about to be honest... depending on how I am eating I seem to be able to continue on a novice linear progression, or when I am dieting more strictly need to scale it back...

Anyhow, I am probably going to Thailand in a months time to train Muay Thai, I am looking for programming suggestions on how to keep getting stronger while training a martial art 5 days a week.

My idea is to do two days of strength training and split it thus -

A

Squats
    OHP
    Power Clean

B

Deadlift
    Bench Press

I also will focus on heavy singles rather than 3 x 5.

I would love to get some input from more experienced people. My lifts for reference are:

Squat 155kg x 5 (175 x 1)
    Deadlift 180kg x 3
    Bench 97.5kg x 5
    Press 67.5kg x 5 (75 x 1)
    Power Clean 75kg x 3 (started training them today).

5'10 97kg bodyweight, approx 22-24% body fat, 27 years old.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

From what little i know about it.... those guys are huge on conditioning and the usual old world work 'till you puke kind of mentality. I doubt you'll be able to get stronger while you're training that way (or even really maintain). your split is ok. Though i'd prob. at least work to a set of 5. or at least 3s rather than singles.

(btw, if i may ask... is there some good reason why you're doing this? i.e. are you already a competitive MMA guy or martial artist? Those muai thai guys start as kids and it's overall a pretty brutal thing and i think they're already broken and retired by their late 20s. )