starting strength gym
Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The SWOLE Life of a not-so-average Student-Athlete

Default The SWOLE Life of a not-so-average Student-Athlete

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    This is my second journal here, and third for those of you who go back to the days of the strengthmill forums. Some of you may remember me from my last journal, "K.Diesel's powerlifting and other training - 2009 and beyond ", which if you're interested and/or really bored, can be found here: http://startingstrength.com/resource...ad.php?t=10141

I decided to start over with a fresh journal. I like the exchange of ideas on the forums, and I hope this new start will help get me going on them again. For a little background: I have been lifting for 8+ years, and competing in the sport of powerlifting (USAPL, raw and single-ply) since August 2008. I have also been a full-time college student since summer 2011. Since returning to school, I completed my associates' degree at Baltimore City Community College in May 2012, and am currently pursuing a bachelors' degree in accounting with a minor in business administration at University of Maryland University College. These 2 things occupy a huge portion of my life in terms of time, energy, finance and more. Since I'm not half-assing it with either, I consider myself a student-athlete.

I don't think I'm a special case or anything. I haven't met a lot of people in the same situation, but that doesn't mean they don't exist. Here's what I mean by "not-so-average":

1. I'm 36 years old.
    2. I work 45-55 hours per week delivering mail for the U.S. Postal Service (this is what I refer to as "urban hiking" or "mailman GPP")
    3. I'm married (my wife of 11 years also started powerlifting about 2 years ago).
    4. I have 3 children (ages 7, 2 1/2, and 5 weeks).