starting strength gym
Page 1 of 17 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: The Iowa Method (AKA Callador's guinea pig)

Default The Iowa Method (AKA Callador's guinea pig)

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    It is about time to get serious about training. I am taking the new year and Callador's 4x4 split as opportunity and path to prepare for a meet (NASA) I plan on competing in on April 20th.

The thread name comes from the fact that as of the date of this posting I am living in Iowa and more fine states need to have fine training programs named after them.

Stats:
    Body weight: 215-220 (started SS around 195 lbs)
    Height: 5'9"

Training history:

Other than 1.5 years of wrestling in junior high and mediocre bench pressing in high school I have no athletic/training experience until October 2011. I found Starting Strength and took a weight training class at my university. I was so impressed with SS that I assumed it would be the textbook for my class. It was not. The class was annoying and I was happy to be done with it so I could move on with better, and more intelligent training. I followed SS for 3-6 months, farted around with some other stuff during the summer and ran the Texas Method (as written sans powercleans) from September through December of 2012.

Injury History:

I fell rock climbing in 2004 resulting in a shattered ankle joint and crushed cartilage. This injury has left me with poor ankle mobility and constant ankle pain. I had the hardware (3 plates and 16 screws) removed in February 2012. The hardware removal did not help. I can't jog because it hurts, can't really front squat because of limited dorsiflexion, and I don't bother with powercleans because every time I try to jump or extend my hips, knees, and ankles quickly I end up doing it all with my left (strong) side. So you won't see power cleans around here but you will see me squatting with a wide stance that accommodates my poor ankle flexibility