starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My current modified SS

Default My current modified SS

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I'm currently doing "heavily modified" SS program with a lot of success. Here's a bit of background on my current lifts. I started lifting in June~July after dropping outta P90X, took me good 4 months to find SS and another month to get the squat right, my current 5RM stats are: Squat: 102kg, Bench 90kg, Deadlift 110kg, OHP 47 and Clean 50kg @ 82kg body weight.

I modified my SS heavily and still feel good, now I know a lot of people are gonna jump me and say don't change the program but I thought I might share it and hear what other people have to say if they modified their SS to add more assistance exercises.

The routine:
    Monday
    Squat
    Bench/Press
    Clean
    Chinups

Wed
    Deadlift
    Bench/Press
    Row
    Weighted Dips
    Triceps (optional)

Friday
    Squat
    Bench/Press
    Hyper
    Pullup

Saturday
    RDL
    Biceps
    Seated Row
    Dips
    Triceps

I'm still recovering and eating at +500 calo surplus, my squat never stalled don't see it coming at all. I wish I could add some more incline DB press, rack pull and snatch to help with major compound exercises. Now I still remember the SS shouldn't be modified, but has anyone had success with modified programmings? Please give me some input on my current routine. Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by tazui1982; 01-15-2013 at 01:48 AM.

You can add in your gazillion assistance exercises after SS. What you are doing is a mistake. Everyone who has done SS will tell you that same thing.

Quote Originally Posted by Alexis View Post
    You can add in your gazillion assistance exercises after SS. What you are doing is a mistake. Everyone who has done SS will tell you that same thing.