starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: seward meets barbells

Default seward meets barbells

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi, my handle is seward, and I'm new to barbells. As in, today is maybe the 4th time I've so much as touched one.

37 y.o. male, 5'11. My bathroom scale said 159 pounds this morning.

I was active in running and field sports in my teens, 20s, and early 30s. Had a nasty ankle injury 5 years ago, finally got it operated on in 2011. Since that surgery, I've been doing rehab, and some kettlebell-based strength training at home.

Today was Starting Strength workout #1 for me. Planning to do things by the book. I've had a few pointers on squats and deadlifts from the trainer who's helping me rehab, but the press was completely new.

Squats
    2 x 5 x bar
    5 x 65lbs
    3 x 5 x 85lbs

Felt pretty easy for now. Squatting movements (bodyweight, with kettlebell) haven't always worked so well on my operated-on side, but no problems here today.

Presses
    2 x 5 x bar
    3 x 5 x 50lbs

This is a different kind of movement for me. I think I'm in the ballpark, but still have lots of work to do. My elbows didn't feel great during the last couple sets. Guessing they weren't forward enough. Planning to review the press chapter and watch http://startingstrength.com/index.ph...g_to_press_2.0

Deadlifts
    5 x 135lbs
    5 x 155lbs
    5 x 175lbs

Felt challenging but not unreasonable. Will be interested to see how the 15lb jump feels next time.

Session 2

Squats
    2x5x45
    5x65
    5x85
    3x5x95

Realized I have some work to do on the hands & arms. Focused on keeping elbows up throughout last sets, that helped.

Bench
    2x5x45
    5x65
    3x5x85