starting strength gym

Thread: Yorky Porky's log of trying to get a bit stronger

Default Yorky Porky's log of trying to get a bit stronger

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Well here is my new log. Benn back training for a short while now (2-3 months), after a lot of on again off again training over the last few years, mainly caused by having travel for work, and also general apathy.

So I've finally decided that I need to get back to the gym and start lifting some weights. My legs have always been relatively strong, but my upper body relatively week. I've been doing a basic 5x5 routine for the last 2 months and made some decent progress.

So now for the details, as of today:
    Height: 5'9"
    Weight: 96kg (211lbs)

Squat (5x5) 122.5kg
    Bench (5x5) 65kg
    Bent over row (5x5) 57.5kg
    Deadlift (3x1) 180kg
    Military press (5x5) 42.5kg

Short term goal is to get to 140kg squat, and eventually 100kg bench (long way to go there I know), and lose some fat, there's enough of it. I'm going to be moving gyms in April, to a 'proper' gym, so hope to get some extra help there, but mainly I hope I won't have to wait to use the 1 squat rack ;-) Long term goal is 180kg squat, 220kg deadlift, 60kg Press, and as heavy a bench as I can manage :-)

As and when, I'll try and post some pics/video, but this may be a while coming. This log is really so I can track what I'm doing, but any comments on are more than welcome, in fact encouraged, to keep me motivated, when things get tough :-). Oh and in case anyone was wondering, I'm in London, UK.

Thanks for looking.

Yorky

a bit late but here's Friday's session:

Squat 5x5 125kg
    Press 5x5 (I know I lost form last it a bit on the last set) 45kg
    Deadlift 3x1 180kg.
    Hammer curls (jut to really mess with my forearms and grip) 18kg 3 x to failure