Thread: How to increase bench?

Question How to increase bench?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi, all.

I've been doing SS for a couple of months now, and my stats are:
    Age 23, weight 79kg, highet 180.
    lifts are squat 120kg 3X5, DL 130kg 5X1 and BP only 80kg 5X3.
    Since I've started training I only increased my BP by less than 10Kg.
    I want to improve my BP another 10Kg min... Any Ideas on how to do it?
    I can only train 3 times a weak, and I dont want to neglect my other lifts (mainly the squats and DL).

Thanks in advance!

What is the minimum amount that you want to do the other lifts? Would you be happy squatting 2x per week and DL 1x?

Something you can do right off the bat is do the upper body lifts first. I would also move onto intermediate style TM programming (intensity/volume). Be sure to get some quality upper body assistance work in there too.

Quote Originally Posted by Callador View Post
    What is the minimum amount that you want to do the other lifts? Would you be happy squatting 2x per week and DL 1x?
    As long as I keep progressing I have no problem squatting less per week...

You have a program in mind I should follow?

How much has everything else increased? Is it keeping pace?

You are benching only 100 pounds or so less than what you are deadlifting for your work sets. I am assuming you mean one set of five for deads, and three sets of five for squats, so I initially read it wrong.

Honestly, it sounds like you just need to get stronger all over. How many months have you been doing SS?

With what you've posted, I recommend making extra sure you are getting enough good solid nutrition.