starting strength gym

Thread: A Strength Training Log

Default A Strength Training Log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello,

Highly imaginative thread titles aside, I am a (nearly) twenty year old incoming college freshman who stands three inches above six feet, weighs ~160 pounds (before I started training, I was 137!), who spent a few months "not doing the program", and has started again today.

I trained for around 8 weeks last, probably a little less, and made some okay-ish gains. I was still not doing the program, largely because my form crap, and I was not eating enough. I still put on 20 pounds. Following that, I fucked around some more, and then just stopped going to the gym. I should point out that it is not a very motivating place to be, but curling bros and possible being the sole squatter there aren't valid excuses. People with one functional leg can deadlift...

As you may have guessed, I am a very weak individual, and as of right now, all I care about is getting strong(er).

---

Monday 03/11/13

Squat 123x3x5

Press 33x3x5

Deadlift 113x1x5

Chins 2x3, 1x2

(struggled to get the third rep of the second set; did not go all the way with the second rep of the third set)

Note that I use a 33lbs (15kg) barbell.

---

I am yet to buy the book. I will have to talk to my father and see if he is open to reading it. If not, then I will save some cash and get the book immediately by buying the Kindle version. I am looking to get my dad in the gym as well. He is 5'6, and 155 pounds. He is diabetic and has/had some issues with kidney stones.
    Last edited by Etranger; 03-16-2013 at 12:09 PM.

Wednesday 03/13/13

Squat 123x3x5

Bench 44x3x5

Deadlift 133x3x5

---

By far my worse gym session. I'll make another thread for that.
    Last edited by Etranger; 03-16-2013 at 12:09 PM.

Saturday 03/16/13

Squat* 133x1x3

Press 43x3x5

Deadlift 153x1x5

---