starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new old guy needs some help

Default new old guy needs some help

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello all.
    Been lurking for some time now and I really do enjoy this forum..(Thanks Rip) I'm way over due for a post so here goes. I was running 5/3/1 about a year and a half ago for about 6 months and seriously overstrained so I stopped training all together until Nov. 15 2012 when I started training SS. LP, I did read the book and still do.

53y/o
    5`8`` on a good day
    213lbs
    BMI 28.9% hydro...not good
    LBM 151.4 Lbs hydro...very good

Lifts; Nov. 15. 2012...213LBS
    SQ 155 3X5
    BP 135 3X5
    DL 180 1X5
    OHP 75 3X5

Lifts; Mar. 14 1013...213LBS
    SQ 265 3X5
    BP 185 3X5....sooooo sad
    DL 315 1X5 (every 4th training day)
    OHP 120 3X5
    Chins to failure X 3
    P/U to failure X 3
    No PC yet

Lift every 3rd day and get about 8 hrs of sleep per night, aprox 2500-3000 cals
    190 protein, 300carbs plenty of H20 and to much fat.... don't care to get much fatter
    I am near the end of a week long recovery for the second time since I started SS.
    All my lifts where reset 20% ish on Feb 8 after 9 days off

Frankly I am beat to shit mentally and physically. I am on a TRT through my GP,,
    I couldn't imagine how much worse I would feel with out it! my recovery sucks

I sure could use a bit of advise on how to proceed with my training,,,cant keep this up for much longer.

Thanks

i assume you mean "body fat %" where you say bmi.

How strong were you when you were doing 5/3/1 last time? Have you considered going back to that?

Also, maybe take some time to lose ~ 20 lbs o fat?

veryhrm