starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mexican Muscle- Fuerza's Log

Post Mexican Muscle- Fuerza's Log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello Everyone,
    I'm a 30 year old man, 5'9" 192lbs. I am a novice lifter, having started a few different plans before SS. I initially started a bodyweight split at home and I didn't really understand what I was doing but I got hooked on weightlifting. I joined the least expensive gym around southern California (fitness 19) that was equipped with a squat rack and bench press because I read about the importance of the Squat in any program.

I combined Medhi's SL with the technique I saw on SS dvd for a few months. I didn't buy the SS:3 book till 5/3/13.

1/8/13 @ 179lbs BW
    Squat 95 5x5 All lifts were 5x5 except the deadlift which was 3x5
    B. Press 85
    Press 45
    DL 135
    BB/T Row 65

5/3/13 @190lbs BW
    Squat 225
    B. Press 155
    Press 100
    DL 225
    BB/T Row 145
    I felt my form was sloppy through out the progression. The video was good but I don't think I hit a deep enough squat or had a vertical bar path in all my lifts. I had a lot of low back pain/fatigue and experienced a shoulder sprain in the anterior deltoid during those months. I also didn't increase weights linearly every session. I also did a few chin-ups and dips here and there, I want to do it right from now on.

Now that I have SS:3 I have started over with my linear program.

5/8/13 working weights 3X5
    Squat 165
    Press 75
    Dead lift 135 1X5

5/10/13 ww 3X5
    Squat 185
    B. Press 145
    back extension 3X10 bodyweight
    Chinups 10/6/6/5