starting strength gym

Thread: A short comment on a few months of weightlifting

Default A short comment on a few months of weightlifting

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I know this issue can be a little controversial (which I'm not trying to start again), but I thought I would give a quick observation from a sample of size one. I do my strength work for my sport, I don't (at the moment) compete as a strength athlete. I had weights amnesia for ages, but after buying and reading SS3 started cashing in the gains of just straight linear progression. After a couple months I moved to upping my weights every fortnight, I guess I was no longer an absolute beginner. Got my main lifts to 200kg DL and 180kg Squat at 84kg BW. A good base to work from for getting some real strength I think. Then for some reason decided I wanted to improve my weightlifting technique, so joined a weightlifting club. 4xper week training, snatched 2x week, c+j 2xper week. we squatted and did pulls etc, but always after long sessions of snatch/c+j. I lose the SS3 focus on pushing the weights on the big strength lifts up as regularly as possible. And I am tired by the time I squat (and every one HBBS not LBBS), and we only pull and not DL. Then 8 weeks later one day at training I take a 1RM DL (with straps - pulls always done with straps) and fail at 150kgs. So over 8 weeks I lost 50kgs on my DL? Then next session I fail on a squat at 155kgs. Well I stopped going there, and now train back at my old gym - 4 weeks later I have pushed my weights back to were they where. Thank god. The big aim for me now is the 500lbs DL, which is 28kgs away...

Eh, I think what you were experiencing was more likely fatigue from all the Oly lifting. 50kg in 4 weeks sounds less like progression and more like recovery.