starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Siggy's log

Default Siggy's log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi all,
    I'm 6"2', 36 years old, and my weight varies between 185 (little training) and 195 (when I train more).

Brief background:
    I'm into many sports, with MMA being my favorite. I trained MMA intensely when I was 25-30 and stopped due to a knee injury. I got married and bought a flat that needed total renovation, so that was the end of serious training for about 3 years.

I started lifting in late 2011 with a friend who had been doing it for a year. This consisted of squats (5x5), bench (5x5), deadlift (1x5), press (5x5) and rows (5x5). I mostly followed his routine and increments, and although it felt light and we did it irregularly, I think it was a god learning phase.

I continued alone in early 2012 ending up with:
    Squats: 220
    Bench: 176
    Deadlift: 205
    Press: 88

I never pushed myself on deadlifts because I'd heard bad stories of herniated discs.

In May 2012 I moved to Brazil, where for months I couldn't find a gym with barbells and squat racks. I started up jiu-jitsu, training 3-4 times a week. Only interrupted by a broken finger and a broken toe.

In August I found a barbell gym, and in September I started doing the full SS routine, with pull-ups as assistance. I would do SS in the mornings and grapple in the evenings, with one day of rest inbetween. (I would bike to work every day though, 20km total). I found myself stalling on the squat and bench, even after deloading. My best no-missed-reps were:
    Squats: 230
    Bench: 175
    Deadlift: 280
    Press: 100
    Power clean: 150

(I found out some of these plates were off by a few pounds. And sometimes I couldn't find the 2.5lb plates)