starting strength gym
Page 1 of 125 1231151101 ... LastLast

Thread: Rob's Brooklyn Block (periodization) Party

Default Rob's Brooklyn Block (periodization) Party

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Alright! New program, new thread.

Monday I start a block of training that Jordan has created for me. He helped me taper/peak (and make weight) for my meet August 10th and I asked him to program an 8-week cycle for me so I could learn more about block periodization.

Normally I program for myself and have been using the Texas Method. I've dabbled in some other stuff (Paul Carter's LRB, Jim Steel's Bench programs and some Wender) but I've mainly done Texas for the last 20 months so I'm excited to start something completely new.

I started lifting almost exactly 3 years ago and was fortunate enough to go directly into Starting Strength and a linear progression. I also began by with one-on-one coaching on the lifts from Starting Strength Coach Jeremy Fisher over at CFSBK. I feel very lucky to have found Rip's book and Jeremy's eye and coaching from the start.

I've competed in two meets, the most recent being 8/10/13. Here are my results:

Squat: 402 (missed 3rd attempt of 407.5)
    Bench: 225 (missed 3rd attempt of 231)-- paused obviously
    Dead: 435

Weight: 183
    Press: 180

I'm planning to compete in November in the RPS fed with a bunch of other people from the forum. A team has formed out in Long Island and I'm taking my party there.

Thanks for reading and following my log.

Default Day 1 of block 1 of Jordan's programming

Accumulation

Block 1 an accumulation phase of 4 weeks culminating with everyone's favorite, the deload.
    The template is a 4-day split: Bench-Squat-Press-DL
    Each day there is also an accessory lift: CG bench-SLDL-Bench-Paused Squat.
    Also there is a circuit each workout and each week there is 1-2 HIIT sessions. It's a lot of work.