starting strength gym

Thread: The "During" Workout Shake

Default The "During" Workout Shake

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I've seen a lot of threads on the pre/post workout shakes, but nothing really on the "during" workout shakes. I try to eat 2 hours before my workout (cup of greek yogurt + 1/2 cup oatmeal + honey) and then drink 3 cups of Lactaid milk during my actual workout (39 g carbs/27 g protein).

This is something I've been doing for a couple years now, and haven't really seen much about it - I think I read Layne Norton mention drinking shakes during the workout, but heard he changed his mind on this.

The lactaid seems to be great (to me) because the lactose is broken up into simple sugars from the lactase enzyme, so the simple sugars plus the protein make it perfect for a workout. (I'm also lactose intolerant to it works out).

Any thoughts on drinking shakes during a workout? Is there any literature on the matter or is it more of a preference thing?

Any thoughts on drinking shakes during a workout? Is there any literature on the matter or is it more of a preference thing?
    There's a bunch of literature on it, but once you correct for all the variables there appears to be no benefit and, in fact, perhaps a detriment to some protein signaling. At any rate, outside of personal preference for it, I don't recommend it unless you're having marathon training sessions or don't care about optimal muscle growth.

Quote Originally Posted by Jordan Feigenbaum View Post
    There's a bunch of literature on it, but once you correct for all the variables there appears to be no benefit and, in fact, perhaps a detriment to some protein signaling. At any rate, outside of personal preference for it, I don't recommend it unless you're having marathon training sessions or don't care about optimal muscle growth.
    meal 2 hrs before and shake post workout is optimal?