starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: AndMcG's SS Training Log

Default AndMcG's SS Training Log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I'm a 22 y/o college student. I'm 6'3" weighing 180 lbs. I restarted SS after about four months off. My previous bests for 3x5 were: Squat 225 lbs, Bench 165 lbs, Press 100 lbs, Deadlift 255 lbs, Power Clean 105 lbs.

My last run with SS lasted for about three months but was cut short when I came down with mono. After a month of awful sickness, two months of sleeping, and one month of laziness, I'm back in action about 15 lbs lighter and a hell of a lot weaker.

I plan to do SS with real attention to form, diet, and progression. No fookin' aboot this time...
    Last edited by andmcg; 08-21-2013 at 02:20 PM.

Two days ago on Monday I went to the gym to see where I'm at strength-wise. Also I hope to be able to walk after today's workout so I did an little intro SS workout.

Squat 135 2x5, 185 1x5

Squats felt super easy at 135 but at 185 felt pretty hard. Immediately after my set of 185 I felt the burn in my Hams/Ass so I decided to quit.

Bench 135 1x5 145 1x4

Bench was a big letdown, I thought I'd easily be able to get 145 3x5 but without a spotter I didn't feel confident on my 5th rep of the first set so I quit.

Chin's 5,5,4

At this point I was feeling pretty gassed and my legs were really starting to burn from squats so I skipped deadlifts. Chin-ups went surprisingly well, probably because I'm 15 pounds lighter than I was.

So I'm a way weaker than I thought I was going to be, but I also didn't go all out seeing as it was my first workout in 4 months.
    I figured I'm in it for the long haul this time so I didn't want to kill myself out of the gate.
    Last edited by andmcg; 08-21-2013 at 02:26 PM.

Squats 3x5 175 lbs

These felt easy. I focused hard to keep strict form and felt good. Will go to 185 next time.