• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Current PRs

Squat 295x5
    Deadlift 295x5
    Bench 155x5
    Weighted chin 90x5 (170 BW)
    Captains of Crush #2.5 gripper close (video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CyouaMQf-k4)

My buddies have been telling me to make a log so they can see what my progress looks like (forum members elVarouza and Rascal).

Training Backround:

I started training by doing chins and a few BW things years ago, at which point my friend on the board (elVarouza) told me to do squats and deadlifts etc. to actually get strong. After I began strength training, I've been set back by a few injuries (torn ACL, inflamed facet joints in lower back, turf toe) but I am currently able to train again. The above PRs aren't my all time bests, but since I'm coming back from about 1.5 years of barely training due to injury, I figured listing the previous PRs is irrelevant. I should be able to get back to that level pretty fast though, since I only have to regain what I was able to do before.

Height: 6' with shoes on
    Weight: 170lbs and going up

Last night:

305x1x5 squats

Had to switch squat racks because the saftey pins were stuck on the rack I was using, so that threw me off a bit.

160x5 bench (PR)

115x1 weighted chin

Ended up bruising my legs trying to pull the belt up to my waist and smashing the weights into my legs. Had to sit down inside of the belt and stand up with it in order to get it on.

I've found that standing the weight up around waist-height, on a plyo box or something, makes it easier to get the dip belt on. Stand em up, put the belt around your back, then thread the chain through the weights and back onto the belt. Worked for me with two 45s.

Wednesday:

Sumo deadlift 305x5

This was quite easy. I'm starting to use hook grip to toughen up my thumbs for when I actually need to use it.

Press 105x3x5