starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HIIT or 30 Minute Run in Morning vs. Morning Lifting

Default HIIT or 30 Minute Run in Morning vs. Morning Lifting

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Greetings, Jordan. Apologies for the length here, trying to be thorough. I fit the profile of your "fluffy" novice. 50 Years old, 6'3", 240lbs, a guesstimate of body fat percentage would be 30-35% Also through various dieting, ketogenic (Atkins) and Weight Watchers included, I've dropped my weight from an all time high in 2006 of 330lbs, with obviously a much higher body fat. Though I've done HIIT via Kettlebells for three different one-month periods in the last couple of years, I am a novice to the barbell compound lifts and Starting Strength program. I am six weeks into the linear progression, and my lifts are increasing nicely, though they started pretty low for a guy my size. I have thus far only been counting calories and protein, averaging about 3500kcal and 225g. Have not been measuring carbs/fat. I can see obvious muscle growth, particularly in my legs, but here's the issue: started six weeks ago at 232lbs, and the amount of fat around my midsection hasn't budged. Pants aren't any tighter, but not any looser, either. All this to get to the question: I want to add either the 30-minute walk or the HIIT you suggest, but due to schedule, I do my lifting M-W-F at 7am. Would the half hour walk interfere with the lifts if done beforehand? My assumption would be that HIIT prior to lifting would be a bad idea. Thanks for your time.

I would lift in the AM at 730 and then do HIIT on off days or after training.

Thanks, Jordan. Will try it on off days and watch my recovery for the lifts carefully. Probably will work with a 16kg kettlebell for snatches and swings. What intervals and rests do you recommend. Thanks again.

Quote Originally Posted by freshelfpie View Post