starting strength gym

Thread: Adductor injury - 2 months in and no improvement?

Default Adductor injury - 2 months in and no improvement?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi! I'm 32 and started with SS about 3 months ago. I only used very light weight on the squat (max was 45kg one time) as I'm still learning form. Anyway, about 2 months ago I noticed a sharp pain in the bottom of the squat (I didn't have lifting shoes then). At first, it was bareable, but after a few workouts it got worse and I stopped with SS completely for healing. the pain seems to be located in my inner tight, near the balls. My theory is, that it was caused by my knees traveling forward during the descent.

Anyway, it hasn't healed or improved till now. The pain however is not at all noticable in everyday activities, just at squat bottom. Not even in front leg raises or when I raise the leg so my knee touches the chest. It's only noticable when I, additionally to lifting my leg, rotate it and lift my foot inwards above my other leg's knee (when sitting, it starts slightly below the knee). It's a sharp pain.

Which muscle could that be? My doctor said that it's probably a small muslce or tendon tear, but nothing too serious since there was no visible blue spot. I'm totally frustated because it has been two months and I still don't see the horizon. I'd much appreciate your input on how I should proceed!

If it hasn't improved in 2 months by itself, my suggestion would be to try to work through it for a couple of weeks and see if it improves. If nothing changes go back to your doctor and demand that he do whatever it takes (MRIs etc) to figure out what it is and to fix it. Unless you're leaving out some big thing that you're doing to it, this is not a reasonable chronic injury.

Also what's your height and weight ?
    What weights did you get to on the other lifts ? Did you read the book ?