starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Starting All Over

Default Starting All Over

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    So, I've been training for about 3 years now, with about 2 of those being pretty much maintenance/waste of time. Of course, in many ways the first year was a waste of time in its own right, simply because I artificially boosted my lifts by using bad form or lower reps than I should have. I experimented WAY too much, and when I had success I got cocky/greedy and then failed. At a bodyweight of around 145 I got my OHP to a max of around 150, my bench to somewhere around 200, my squat to 320+, and my deadlift to about 320 as well. I stopped eating enough because I liked the idea of having a high bodyweight/strength ratio. This fucked me over. I think maybe it's the reason I got the injury I talk about next:

One of the other main reasons (and by far the most discouraging reason) that my training has been a waste of time is an SI joint injury I got. I think it started like 3 years ago, but it never got bad until about 2 years back. It's recently gotten so bad that my deadlift and squat actually started going down every workout, and I'd have to pop it back into place in the middle of every one of my sleep cycles. Extreme pain was had on a daily basis, even just from walking. I was stubborn about the injury, though, and was convinced that I should train through it. I was afraid if I didn't then the injury would solidify and then my training would be hindered upon returning to it.

Recently, I finally said "fuck it" and decided to stop working out for a couple weeks and see if anything heals. It's feeling a lot better now and I'm thankful for that, but I'm using this opportunity to correct all my previous training sins, and start from the beginning, using the knowledge I've gained from making all the beginner mistakes.