starting strength gym

Thread: Tonkatron's PL Log

Post Tonkatron's PL Log

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I’m a 30 year old living in Solihull, UK. This week, I competed in my first meet, so I thought it would be a good time to start a log. All weights will be in kg.

Height: 5’9”
    BW: 93
    Squat 1RM: 200
    Bench 1RM: 130
    Deadlift 1RM: 215
    Press 1RM: 92

I’ve been lifting for about 4 years, with a layoff of about a year in between. Up until 8 weeks ago, I had been running a 3x5 linear progression on squats and presses. My squats stalled at 160kg, so I decided to transition to Texas Method, with triples on Intensity day, in the lead-up to the meet.

I train with a couple of guys from work, who have only recently got into barbell lifting (around 4 months in). They’re mostly running a Starting Strength style programme. We lift at a local leisure centre, with pretty crappy equipment. I’m planning to lift at some “serious” PL gyms in the near future, with some of the guys I met at the meet.

My weekly schedule looks like this:

Tuesday - Volume
    Squats 3x5
    Bench 3x5
    Dips (weighted) 2x8

Wednesday - Assistance
    RDL - 3x5
    Chins (weighted) 2x8

Thursday - Light
    Squat - 2x5
    Press 2x5
    Curls 2x12-15

Saturday - Intensity
    Squats 1x3
    Bench 1x3
    Deadlift 1x3

I’ll be alternating press/bench each week, although my first 8 weeks had a bench focus due to meet preparation. I'm currently resting for a week post-competition, and will be starting back up on Tuesday 3rd.

Meet Write-up: GBPF West Midlands Open Powerlifting Championship - Hatchford Brook Community Centre, Solihull, 24th November 2013