starting strength gym
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Novice (first time) lifter 43 male

Default Novice (first time) lifter 43 male

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    43 male 5'6" 195#. Have been very sedentary until I started some light running last year. I did run 3-5K's. I hate running. I really hate running.

OK folks, here we go. For the last 10 days or so I have been working on rereading the book and working on proper (as close as I can get) form. It's taken me a while to figure out what weights I should be starting with. I'm using the SS Warmup ap to set my warmup reps. Using Lose It ap to track my calories and protein grams. Last time I lifted weights was in the early 1990's so its been a while. I'm a hospital physician but that doesn't mean I'm not a willing student! So here goes -

Squat - 145# 3x5
    Press - 100# 3x5 (last rep was NOT good form)
    Deadlift - 195# 1x5 (I was trying 205 but only got 3 so dropped weight back and re-did the set).
    OK - did 3x5 barbell curls 75#..... Pure vanity. On the other lift day I am doing lat pulldowns. Seems to help this twinge I have in my shoulder joint.

So far, so good. Far from stellar numbers but there's room for improvement!

Doc, Have you done Bench Press yet? Welcome to a very fulfilling avocation.

Quote Originally Posted by carson View Post
    Doc, Have you done Bench Press yet? Welcome to a very fulfilling avocation.