• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Today starts my second full week of SS.

3/30/14
    Squat: 180x5x3
    BP: 160x5x3
    DL: 265x5x1

So a little about myself, 35yo, 74" @ 208#.

If you're reading this log, then I truly appreciate the time invested in reading my progress. Training wise, I've just finished up 5x5 ladders with the 53# kettlebell and didn't want to shuck out $140 for the 63#. I already had the barbell set so that seemed like a good option.

I don't remember how I happened upon SS, but after I started reading the book, it all made sense and the simplicity of three movements that always went up was attractive. After the first couple sessions I was wondering, "where's the volume?", but had a Eureka moment! It's not about the volume! It's about putting more weight on the bar every. single. session.

I'm a former Army infantry officer so I've been generally fit all my life. I love deadlifting. During OIF1 my all time 5RM was 425. Don't recall bench numbers but I believe 5x225?

Anyway, glad to be here.

Welcome and thanks for your service. I don't know what "5 X 5 ladders with the 53# kettlebell" means but congratulations anyway.

Thanks! One ladder is 5 sets. First you do one rep, switch arms, then set the bell down. Short break. Then 2 reps, switch arms, 2 reps. So on and so forth. It's a way to increase volume as your strength and endurance increase. So for example, if you just finished 5x[1-5] with the 44# bell, and can only do 3 reps with the heavier bell, you might start with 3x[1-3] one week, then 4x[1-3], then 5x[1-3], then start adding the 4th and 5th rungs of the ladders. It works pretty well but isn't really exciting.

No, it doesn't seem exciting. I watch your progress on the prescribed lifts: Squat, Bench, Press, and Deadlift.