starting strength gym

Thread: At Home on the Platform

Default At Home on the Platform

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    6/4/2014

I am a new competitive powerlifter, and new to powerlifting in general. I have recently competed in my first meet (USAPL's battle of the great lakes in April--my numbers for push/pull--bench: 115lb, deadlift: 290lb) I have absolutely fallen in love with the sport.

I have a lot of previous lifting experience in more of a bodybuilding aspect, but have always loved training my ass off and being as strong as I can be...I also love to actually eat good food. Therefore, in my humble opinion, powerlifting is perfect. I've also noticed that powerlifting is a much nicer and more humble sport than bodybuilding. Athletes encourage, yet still compete...and they compete not just against each other, but against themselves.

Weight: 173

Today was my first full workout after having surgery 6 weeks ago. I was off of lifting completely for about 5 weeks, so it feels amazing to be back in the gym. I have to take it VERY easy the first few weeks back, but I know that strength will come back quick.

-Squats:
    75 x 3 x 5

I actually did my squats yesterday, but got the OK at the doc to do upper body work today, so I'm including it in this workout. I am recovering from tendonitis in my hip flexor. It was one of the most painful and annoying injuries I have ever had. I have been doing leg swings between every set, including warm-ups, and it seems to help keep me loose. I also am making an EXTRA effort to really drive my knees out and not let them collapse in on my drive up. Still working on form.

-Bench:
    65 x 3 x 5

My weakest lift. This weight was jokingly easy, but I have to ease back into it gently. I hit 115 at the meet, failed my 120 attempt. Bummer. I'm really going to be concentrating on my bench for next meet. My goal is a solid 135.

-Deadlift: