starting strength gym
Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Ozzie's road to first PL meet.

Default Ozzie's road to first PL meet.

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello everybody i've been running SS for about 8 weeks now and ive seen nothing but results.

Backround:
    Starting off, growing up i was always "the fat kid". Fast foward to the age of 16 I was introduced to barbell training from a local S&C coach for football and i always felt i was strong for my age, soon after that i fell in love. After i graduated from highschool and i got extremely obese and started to weigh upwards to 300 pounds. After getting sick of being overweight i decided to lose weight and ran about 2 years worth of " cookie cutter programs" and went on a "cut" and got down to 165 in a matter of two years, but it came with a price, I lost all my strength. So after endless searching i came across Mark Rippetoe and the book starting strength. I read it and then decided to start his program. After being so weak from losing weight i started all lifts at 135.

Cliffs:
    - Introduced to barbell training
    - Graduated high school became fat
    - got sick of being fat lost weight/strength
    - found SS
    - want to compete in PL

Stats:
    Age- 22
    Height:5'9
    Weight:170

Lifts 6/10/14:
    Bench: 135
    Squat: 135
    Dead : 135
    Clean : 95
    Press: 75

Lifts as of now 8/01/14:
    Bench: 185
    Squat : 185( Deloaded due to form and depth issue)
    dead: 245( No belt, Dbl overhand)
    Clean: 160
    Press: 120

Goals:

compete in a powerlifting meet and hopefully more and also become stronger. I want to be able to rep 225 on bench, squat 315, and deadlift 350. I didn't choose powerlifting for the glamour because well there isnt any. I chose it for the love of moving heavy objects.

Training days: