starting strength gym

Thread: Lexington Level II Seminar Review

Default Lexington Level II Seminar Review

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I attended the SS Level II Seminar in Lexington, KY in May 2014. It was a fantastic experience and I highly recommend going. It's $795 but some of the best money I have ever spent.

I didn't have any intention of becoming a certified coach when I went to the seminar since I have no coaching experience. I did pick up a few cues that will be useful and I have helped my wife a bit with her lifting.

I started Starting Strength a couple of years prior to attending the seminar and slowly tried to figure stuff out on my own based on the books and the DVD. I was not doing the program – not eating enough, had poor form, etc. I remember struggling to squat 225 at one point. I got better, but never realized the value of in-person coaching until I went to the seminar. I wish I had gone to a seminar from the beginning – things would have gone much smoother for me. I wouldn't have gotten injured as much and I would probably be a lot stronger today.

On to the seminar. I left work early and drove straight to the seminar (2+ hours). I walked into the room and Rip was sitting in a chair right in the middle talking to the seminar staff. He just kind of stared at me when I walked in. Luckily Stef came over and got me checked in.

I was pretty fortunate in that there were only eight students at the seminar. One of them was a guy who missed the lecture portion of a seminar at WFAC due to ice/snow, so really only seven for most of the weekend. I'm guessing this wasn’t the turnout that Rip and Stef had hoped for, but the small session size was great. Most attendees were somewhat local but one guy came in all the way from Sweden.