starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Time for me to need some general programming advice please guys

Default Time for me to need some general programming advice please guys

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi all,

Ive been training now for nearly 6 months. For the past few weeks I have been feeling constantly tired, my weight gain has slowed and my lifting rate of progression has slowed. Its felt hard at various times before so I know it has to be hard, but I felt it was time for me to get some general advice on how to move forward now.

My stats are as follows:

Started: End Apr 14 ---> Now
    Age 34
    Height 5'10
    Weight 150lb ---> 180lb
    Bodyfat 15% ---> 19% (not that we care too much about this)
    Waist size 30/32 ish ---> 34

Squat 45kg ---> 110kg (3 sets of 3)
    Bench 25kg ---> 65kg (5 sets of 3)
    Deadlift 60kg ---> 115kg (1 set of 5)
    Press/Press2 20kg ---> 42.5kg (3 sets of 3)
    Power clean 40kg no progress
    Chins <1 ---> 3 sets of 4 a few weeks back, currently 3,2,2

As I said above, for the last several weeks I've just felt very tired all the time. I've had a few colds and some personal stress with ex wife and during those periods I cut back on training.

My weight gain has continued slowly, I haven't ever gone backwards but it has slowed down or stood still for periods of time. Sometimes I've fell asleep on the sofa and missed a meal just because I'm tired. I am getting sleep, but for some reason its not been the best quality sleep. I'm still tired in the morning and I wake up alot in the night.

For the past few weeks Ive only been attending the gym twice a week, pretty much following the 1 on 2 off schedule in PPST3 advanced novice. As you can see I've also made the switch to 3x3 on squat, bench and press. This is very recent.