starting strength gym

Thread: Stuck OHP - Programming Opinions

Default Stuck OHP - Programming Opinions

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello, thanks for taking the time to read/respond to this.

I'm 6'2, 230 lb, 34 years old, intermediate lifter. I've been running Wendlers Advanced 5/3/1 for about 6 months and my press is not making any real advancements, I've been stuck around 185 for a 1RM for a while despite a few resets. I lift at lunch and don't usually have much time for accessory work.

Adv 5/3/1 programming has been:

Tue - 5/3/1 Bench, 3x5 (sets x reps) OHP @75%
    Thur - 5/3/1 OHP, 3x5 Bench @ 75%

Adv 5/3/1 reps are 5x5, 5x3, 5x1 varying by week.

Opinions on a more effective OHP program? i dont' really feel like the heavy OHP singles have been doing anything for me. I came across the Starr article on here and I'm planning on switching to his programming, something like this:

Tue - 5/3/1 Bench, 3x5 OHP @ 75%, Weighted Dips, varying by week but ~5x5 @ 45lbs

Thur - OHP 3-6x3, adding weight when I get 6 sets at the same weight, Steep incline DB Bench, 5x8

Other lifts are progressing nicely, 475x2 DL, 415 1RM squat, 295 5x1 last cycle for bench.

I don't know what Wendlers advanced program is supposed to be so I can't comment. As I've said before though, my observation with those who don't progress on 531 is that they need more volume at the appropriate intensities. One all out set in the 80-95% range plus tons of 10s doesn't work for a lot of intermediates. They need 15-25 reps in that 80-85% range to build strength. And I'm not talking about "training maxes"

Try more of a true TM set up. Volume 5s on day one, and singles across on day 2. And spread your week out. Try Tues/Fri or Mon/Thurs, not tues/thurs.