starting strength gym
Page 1 of 20 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Staving off the decline

Default Staving off the decline

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I'm 61, 5'11", 165 pounds, and a lifelong cyclist.

My goals are to improve my strength, muscle mass, and bone density. And ultimately, compression of morbidity (wonderful phrase, that).

I've been doing machines for three years with very few gains. Very recently I got coached by Paul Horn for two sessions, and am now raring to go on Starting Strength. Paul rocks, btw.

Here's my second solo workout (fourth overall, counting the two sessions with Paul), from 6/16/15. This was in the weight room of the college where I work.

Squat
    45x5x2
    55x5x1
    60x3x1
    65x2x1
    70x1x1
    75x5x3

Press
    20x5x2
    30x5x2
    45x5x3

Deadlift
    30x5x2
    60x5x1
    90x3x1
    115x2x1
    135x1x1
    145x5x1

I was trying to follow the warmup progression that Paul had given me, but had to figure out how to do so with the available weights as I went along, and had to settle for some very rough approximations. For some of my deadlift warmups, I kind of improvised an RDL from the lowest hook position on a power rack, since the bar would have been way low if I lifted from the floor.

Also, my work sets on the press were supposed to be at 40 pounds, but to put that together I would have had to use plates with with 2-inch holes on a 1-inch bar, and had a feeling that wasn't a good idea. So I just used the standard bar and pressed 45 instead, and that felt fine.

Anyway, once I get as strong as a normal human adult, I won't have to scrounge around for such tiny weights to warm up with!