starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Finishing Strong

Default Finishing Strong

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    66 year-old geezer. 5'11" - 240#.

I spent my entire life weak and fat, despite running and bicycling. About five years ago I started training "hardstyle" with kettlebells and became considerably stronger and better conditioned. Upon retirement in June of 2012 I lost 40 pounds down to 235 from 275. Over next few years I managed to lose another 10 pounds by monitoring of diet. Decided early this year that I needed greater ultimate strength as a means to getting my body fat under 20%. Started at an "Anytime Fitness" gym but quickly realized from my KB training that the trainers there really didn't know what they were doing, at least not in regards to what I wanted to accomplish. Fortunately, few people use the squat racks so it's really not a bad place to train.

Broad goal is to finish out this life journey as strong and functionally capable as possible without turning fitness into an obsession (a tendency of mine. After all, if it's worth doing it's worth overdoing!)

More specific goal is to achieve intermediate level (whatever that turns out to be) just short of where the programming becomes too complicated. I also would like to get my body fat down under 20%, but that is secondary so long as I'm not too far over 25%.

Discovered Starting Strength while reading "PJ Media". Bought SSBT and PPST and started perusing the forum. Quickly realized that I needed some quality coaching so I scheduled a couple of hours with Matt Reynolds at Strong Gym in Springfield, MO (3 & 1/2 hours away) on April 21st to learn the squat, press, deadlift, and bench press. Great investment, Matt is a great coach and a fine man. After that I spent too much time with "random acts of variety" and messing with the KB's but still progressed.