starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Farmer's Beginner Training Log

Default Farmer's Beginner Training Log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi all,

I am thankful to be able to post my beginner training log here and appreciate any comments or feedback you have to offer.

I have been working through the starting strength program for a couple of months, and I started logging on May 25th of 2015. I’ll reference where I started and where I am now.

38yo male, 6’1” I have been running a calorie deficit for a few months now. around 10% below maintenance in an effort to lose some body fat, starting when I weighed around 206 lbs. I realize the deficit will compromise my strength gains for the time being, but I will eventually flip over to a surplus. I do supplement protein daily to ensure I hit 180-190grams and also added creatine monohydrate to the mix at 5grams daily.

I row for ~5min before each workout and have some basic calisthenics and stretches I do prior to getting under the bar to make sure I am warm.

First logged workout:
    May 25th 2015

Weight: 196
    Body fat: 16% (Calipers)

Squat:
    45x5x2
    95x5x1
    115x3x1
    185x5x3

Bench:
    45x5x2
    65x5x1
    95x5x1
    135x5x3

Clean:
    45x5x2
    65x5x1
    95x5x3

May 27th 2015

Squat:
    45x5x2
    95x5x1
    145x5x1
    195x5x3

Press:
    45x5x2
    65x5x1
    95x5x3

Dead:
    95x5x2
    155x5x1
    225x5x1

I have lifted Sat, Mon, Wed since then, fortunately without missing a workout so far. I engaged the services of a trainer in my area familiar with the SS lifts and he has helped me considerably on my technique. As a consequence of incorrect technique, I reset my progress on Clean and have started a new progression there.

Also, I have already begun micro loading my press, clearly my weakest lift by a good margin.

So…

June 27th 2015
    Weight: 192