starting strength gym
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Re-Starting Strength After Living Abroad

Red face Re-Starting Strength After Living Abroad

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I guess I'm not really a novice anymore, but I'm re-running linear progression. I've been following this website for a while, but I haven't bothered posting any training logs.

Height: 5'9.5"/176.5 cm
    Weight: 192 lb/87 kg (got slightly plump on vacation)

A brief background history... as a kid I wasn't very active. I would occasionally go jogging and lift dumbbells that my cousin used in the garage, but I never progressed in strength. I joined the military for 4.5 years which exposed me to physical activity, but even then I didn't make much strength gains. I met a civilian contractor near the end of my service who introduced me to the beautiful world of barbell weightlifting. He knew of SS, but for some reason he wasn't doing the SS program. However, he did use barbells and tried to convince everyone else at work to do the same.

I started barbell weightlifting a few month before I moved to Korea on August 2014 as an exchange student. Progression went very slowly because I had to figure out my macros in terms of Korean food, the personal trainers kept giving me bad advice, and folks would keep on getting mad at me for doing deadlifts.

After my exchange program, I traveled Asia on vacation. Asia in general isn't really into barbell culture which makes me quite sad. It was difficult to find a proper squat rack at a nearby gym where I traveled, and the hotel gyms never had a barbell. It's a shame that the most important piece of equipment is often the last included.